top of page

To all with an early riser at home



Its 5.23am, we've been up since 5.02am. Thanks to my bright-eyed 21m old (yes not yet 2 but far from 1). I try my best to keep him from escaping the four comfy corners of mummy's bed and in turn wake up everyone that's at home.

I normally can stretch that out until the demands for a "Bubba" start. At that point, its time to get up and start our day.

Ive read on a few mummy blogs that bottles aren't advisable past 1 year old, That I should have started offering him a beaker. Due to teeth etc. Most of the points I read were valid & the health & developmental points are things I'm more mindful of moving forward.

What I couldn't find was, what I'm meant to do after a bath & book when my son is screaming for his bubba. No one really has any quality advice for those nights. What replaces the comfort at night and nap times.

Though I'm not a first-time mum. I shit you not getting Khariem into a routine has been very trying. From trying to get him to go to sleep at a decent hour, to the nights of waking up 2,3,4,5,6 times, to now waking up at ungodly hours.


***A 2007 Swiss study found that at one year of age, some healthy, normal children slept a total of 11.4hrs & others slept 16.5hrs that 5hr difference is huge. Especially when you are juggling home, 3 children, work, family & friends.

Raising children has and will always be a working process. This is how I set up Khariems routine, so I could claw back some form of sanity. The following will always need to adjust to your daily routine and what works for you. This routine was before he started nursery, while he was with me practically 24/7

Morning

6 am wake up

6.30/7am bottle

8.30am Nap (during school run)

9.30am breakfast

Afternoon

11 am bottle

1 pm lunch

3 pm snack

Evening

5.30/6pm dinner

7 pm bathtime

7.30 storytime

8 pm bedtime

Of course, we have the occasional wobbly night, where he either won't settle & has me coming in every 5 minutes. Which can very, very frustrating and tiring. Especially when you know you've met all your babies needs. I believe in the crying method 100%, saying that I totally believe there is a fine line between letting your baby cry it out when nothings wrong and allowing your baby to become stressed through excessive crying.

 

0 comments
bottom of page